How Much Do you Save Making Your Own? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-05-2007, 02:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've just ventured beyond AIO's such as FB and SB's. I'm knitting my first set of longies, very excited, bought some used prefitteds.

Can I really save making my own dipes vs. Buying some used? I'm a novice seamstress, are they difficult? Say, prefitteds?

Just curious.

Gita
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-05-2007, 02:54 AM

I haven't bought a single dipe -- I've made all fitteds. I don't think they are difficult to make at all, you get really quick after the first few. I also haven't paid much for my stash (less than $20 for 3 doz. newborn/small, 2 doz. Med.), since I've used all recycled fabric -- either stuff around the house, or flannel sheets from thrift stores. The only things I've purchased at a fabric store are elastic, thread and velcro. So, yes, it can be much, much cheaper to make your own... or if you buy fancy fabric, etc... plenty expensive. Just depends on what you want to do, how motivated you are...

Mama to 4 girls    chicken3.gif5/05, 12/07, 9/09, 3/11   winner.jpghomeschool.gifhomebirth.jpg

Old 10-05-2007, 10:37 AM

If you use clearance flannel you can make 2-3 for $1 plus some elastic and velcro or aplix or touch tape. Its very very cheap. You can make more than that of course but I have a toddler so her butt is big. I get annoyed with mine and the time it takes to make them sometimes though admittedly and I still like ones that others have made. You can DEFINITELY go without all of those though for sure.