Knitting/Crocheting with Carpal Tunnel - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-17-2008, 02:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Does anyone do this? Are there any tips to make knitting or crocheting with carpal tunnel easier/less painful? I found out today I'm in the beginning stages of carpal tunnel... (I've had symptoms for a while now, but was just diagnosed.) And I just learned to crochet and want to knit, too! : Is either crocheting or knitting less detrimental then the other? At this point I don't know what to do... I don't want to give up both... That, and I'm a medical transcription student, so I also do a huge amount of typing. Any thoughts or suggestions?
TIA ladies! I hope we can figure something out!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-17-2008, 02:54 PM

Knitting continental style is easier on your hands than english(throwing) style. It seems like crochet would be harder on your hands, because I tend to move my wrist a lot when I crochet.

The main thing is to try not to use your wrists to move your hands. If you can do most of your movement with your shoulders, you'll be less likely to injure your wrists.

As much as possible, throughout everything you do, you should act as if you have a ruler taped to the back of your hand and arm. When typing, make sure you're in an ergonomically correct position, and use something to prop your wrists on.

You should also do arm, hand and shouolder exercises frequently. Don't spend too long at any one activity without breaks.

A couple of good exercises:
Giant Piano:
With your wrists straight, palms to floor, hold your arms in front of you. Move your fingers as though you are playing scales on a giant piano. Use just your fingers, keeping your wrist as still as you can.

Shoulder rolls:
forward and backward.

Figure Eights: