round loom baby hat - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 02-29-2008, 05:14 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, so I am good at acquiring craft supplies, and then never do anything. So I bought one of those plastic round loom sets a couple years ago. I have several friends having babies soon and it finally occurred to me I should use this contraption. Has anyone used one to make simple, single color baby hats? About how difficult do you think it is for a complete novice? How long did it take you to make one little hat? I would love to eventually make other things and have found a few patterns, but for now I need as simple and quick as possible. Any tips for a newbie would be great!

I know, the cheap plastic version is not the greatest, but if you saw my craft room....I really like to try things out before making a huge investment.

"I'm so crafty, I make people" DD (01/06) and her much anticipated sibling (07/10) with my sweet DH (07/02)
#2 of 7 Old 02-29-2008, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter

Has anyone at least tried one of these looms?
http://www.provocraft.com/products/d...=&item=21-0100

"I'm so crafty, I make people" DD (01/06) and her much anticipated sibling (07/10) with my sweet DH (07/02)
#3 of 7 Old 02-29-2008, 08:20 PM

I have something similar to that. I made a few hats with it. It took me maybe 1.5 hours to make my DS a hat. It was really easy. I'm now trying to learn to knit, but it was a nice first step. I used that thick and chunky yarn (bulky weight, I think?), and that made things go faster as well. Otherwise, you have to use two threads of yarn. I'd pick up one of the little instruction manuals if your set didn't come with one. The little manual also tells you how to change colors if you want to do that. I just made the basic hat with the rolled bottom.

It doesn't turn out as cute as real knitting would in my opinion. But it keeps DS's head warm!
#4 of 7 Old 03-01-2008, 12:30 AM - Thread Starter