Musician mamas - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 03-24-2008, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey there! I looked and didn't see any recent discussion on music, so here goes!

Any moms out there sing or play an instrument? I sing and play guitar, bass and a tiny little bit of piano. Right now my inst. of choice is bass (when the 6MO lets me!).

Amanda - Wife to Will,Mom to Kevin (2), and his brother or sister, due in May 2010
#2 of 15 Old 03-24-2008, 12:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdubs_mom View Post
Hey there! I looked and didn't see any recent discussion on music, so here goes!

Any moms out there sing or play an instrument? I sing and play guitar, bass and a tiny little bit of piano. Right now my inst. of choice is bass (when the 6MO lets me!).

I'm a music teacher and music director at my synagogue. I sing, play/teach piano and voice, and I'm learning guitar (but I suck :). Do you take private lessons? If so, have you noticed how all the good teachers are booked/freakin' expensive????

Sara caffix.gif, Keith 2whistle.gif, Toby 6/08superhero.gif, Nomi 4/10blahblah.gif, Mona 1/12 hammer.gif

Mama of three, lover, student rabbi, spoonie, friend, musician, narcoleptic, space muffin, pretty much a dragon. Crunchy like matzoh.

#3 of 15 Old 03-24-2008, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter

I did take private lessons, but my bass lessons were free since I worked at a music store.

Yes, they are expensive. I've never taken a class but I hear that can be a good option and it's cheaper. Also, you can get input and learn from the other students.

Maybe you could trade piano lessons for guitar lessons?

Amanda - Wife to Will,Mom to Kevin (2), and his brother or sister, due in May 2010
#4 of 15 Old 03-25-2008, 12:24 PM