big bad baby blanket question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 05-27-2008, 10:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i've decided to knit the "big bad baby blanket" from stitch 'n bitch (p. 187 for those with the book). i'm pretty new to knitting, but this seems like something i can do. just a couple questions. it says to hold two strands of yarn throughout the project. i understand what this means, just wondering if there's anything to be careful of when doing this. also, what does this do, just make it thicker? finally, i've never knit on circular needles. anything i should know? TIA

mother is a verb
I GOT MY vbac.gif!!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 05-28-2008, 04:02 PM

Well, I like that pattern a lot.

First off, good news! You're really not knitting in the round, you're just using the circular need as convenience and treating it like a set of straights. However, because you'll be flipping your needles around a lot, it'll be tough to keep it from tangling with your balls of yarn. Try to get into a rhythm and always switch needles in a different direction every other time. (Clockwise one way, ccw the other.) I find this helps in avoiding twisting up the two strands of yarn. If you'd switch the same every time, it'd just be like going in a circle over and over and over, and then your strands twist up. Lol.

I usually don't like knitting with two held together, so the next one I make will be with dk weight or just worsted. I love that gauge isn't terribly essential for baby blankets.

Good luck! I'm sure it'll be beautiful. What colors/yarns have you chosen?

Mama to twin boys, Oct-'09 and baby girl, Apri-'12!

#3 of 8 Old 05-29-2008, 03:41 AM