Postpartum AF return--did you get a warning? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 05-04-2010, 01:50 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Did you know when AF was about to return or did it just appear?

Did you notice a return of CM? Other symptoms of your cycle before the actual AF?

I don't know why I'm so anxious about this lately, but I keep wondering when I'll get AF back and if I'll be able to anticipate it or not. My LO is 7 months and basically still EBF and till nursed 2 or more times a night. . .I don't have any real reason to think I'll get my cycle back, but I've never done this before so I just don't know what to expect. And now its been almost a year and a half since I even had a period. . .I've almost forgotten what its like!

Lately whenever I have an off day I think "maybe my hormones are changing, maybe I'm going to cycle again." I'd rather be able to anticipate this a bit and not just be waiting around for that fateful day!

photosmile2.gif Me= crunchy mama to one rambunctious toddler, born on October 1, 2009. And one sweet little baby born January 19, 2012. heartbeat.gif

#2 of 25 Old 05-04-2010, 02:05 AM

I got mine at 5months postpartum. It was like a surprise attack -- no warning signs that i noticed. When i got it again next month, i definitely knew it was coming when i felt the old moodiness returning along with the growth of a very painful pimple...stupid jerky dumb period!

Love of our life, born September 2009
#3 of 25 Old 05-04-2010, 02:32 AM

My warning was this: painful nursing, change in milk supply and becoming more tired than usual. Naturally, I convinced myself that I was pregnant. After one evap line and a negative test, (and a call to my LC to prepare to try and nurse through a pregnancy) I finally got AF back.