How soon can you tell? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-20-2010, 12:34 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I EBF'ed DD until a little after one year. She is almost two and is a heavy nurser. I have not started my period.

How soon can you tell if you are pregnant after being unprotected (which was last Sunday)? The reason that I ask is that I have to go in for minor surgery (hernia) on Thursday, but don't want to risk the anesthesia if I am pregnant.

I have been TTC and would hate an jeopardy.

Mama to 3 wonderful children
intactlact.gifgoorganic.jpgfamilybed2.gifbfolderchild.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-20-2010, 01:57 AM

from what i have been told.......

you can test pos at the earliest at 10 dpo. i believe. if you dtd last sun, you pretend you o'ed within 3 days. 10 days after that should work. i am not a pro lol. but i am ebf a 8 mo old and have had a scare or two. so test 13 days after dtd.

Me,DH,DS1'95, '98,DSD'03,DD1'07,DD2'09,DS2'12 Living with Fructose Malabsorption Syndrome and Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome Type 3-Hypermobility.)o( and sometimes I get toif I am lucky.
Old 06-20-2010, 03:00 PM

A test should be +/- after 14 days.

I was also TTC and had surgery. I told the Dr that I was TTC and they did a blood test the day before surgery just to 'check' since I was also in the two week wait. (I was not and had the surgery).

They will also ask you the morning of the surgery and if you are not sure, many places do a pregnancy test as a precaution. If I had not had the blood test, the nurse would have done a test as preop procedure (it is policy for our area at least--I have had a few minor surgeries and they always ask/test if you are not having your period that day (everyone 15-55 gets tested).
Old 06-20-2010, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter

How soon can they tell by a blood test? I have a physical anyway tomorrow and can ask my doctor to pull the blood.

Old 06-20-2010, 08:44 PM