Can I really be pregnant? Maybe TMI in this post... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 08-18-2010, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So I feel kind of embarrassed explaining this, but here goes: I have been using the FAM method for birth control for 7 months and am positive I had my cycle down. My husband and I went away (we have a DS, 2.5 years old) and during this time, I know I was fertile, so we fooled around and there was some penetration, but only for a few minutes and he did not ejaculate in me. Now I'm on day 35 of my cycle and usually my cycles are only 25-28 days. I took a pregnancy test yesterday which came back positive.

Really? Can this really happen? I remember reading in all the teen magazines when I was younger that pre-ejaculatory fluid can contain sperm, but now being older and wiser, have remembered hearing that there is no sperm in pre-ejaculation fluid.

We were trying to avoid getting pregnant. I had some complications with my last pregnancy and am terrified of being pregnant again. Any insight?
#2 of 14 Old 08-18-2010, 08:06 PM

Yes, it can happen. We use The Creighton Model Fertility Care system for NFP which is a method where you abstain during fertile times and our practitioner was very direct with us that we could have no genital genital contact or hand genital contact during fertile times if we are avoiding even if the man does not ejaculate, she and other practitioners have seen more than a handful of PG result from indirect contact even without ejaculation.

Sorry you had to find out this way! Best of luck to you and I hope this PG does not have the complications like your last. I can't imagine how stressful that must be to think about right now.

Sarah
Mommy to three girls DD 6, DD 3.5,DD 8/2011 & new babe 3/2013, 2 angel.gif's 1/2008 and 8/2010

#3 of 14 Old 08-18-2010, 09:01 PM