Talk to me about vasectomy reversals... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 12-01-2010, 03:02 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

DH and I have been talking for a few years now about getting him a vasectomy reversal. He has been "fixed" for 6 years - right after our youngest was born. We have 3 daughters 12, 8, 6 and I never felt like my family was complete. I loved being pregnant, homebirthing, breastfeeding, everything about having a baby. He wanted to be done having babies, but he knows how much I want a big family and really miss having babies - I just feel like my family is not done growing and I feel like if we wait much longer my body won't react well - I'm going to be 31 this month. I had perfectly normal pregnancies and labor and deliveries - all natural - last one a homebirth.

One of my greatest worries is the cost - I'm a SAHM and DH works full time, but we do not have health insurance. He works for a small business - only 3 employees - so it's not cost effective for them to have the health insurance - too much $$ and we wouldn't buy it anyway again - too much $$. The girls are on Medicaid and whenever I've been pregnant I've been on Medicaid.

Another worry I have is having a baby so far apart from my youngest. My brother and I were 6 years apart and it always seemed like such a large gap. I loved having my last two so close together - they're very close, like best friends - except when they're fighting LOL.

I know there's two different ways to do a vasectomy reversal - one is cheaper than the other, I think. We haven't called any doctors yet and can't recall the urologist that did the vasectomy in the first place.