Follow up appt for Mirena? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 10-14-2011, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Is this really necessary? If I'm having no issues and can feel the strings it seems like it's a waste of resources just to have the doc check me and tell me everything is fine. (Especially since I have Medicaid and do what I can not to waste the state's money.) I'm pretty sure I'm going to cancel the appointment but wanted to see what others have to say.

Kali (pka Michelle) ~ crunchy wife to Cory (09/06) ~ Mama to H (03/90) & I (06/92)--bothnocirc.gifbf.jpg BF for 35 consecutive months ~ angel1.gif x 4

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 10-14-2011, 01:58 PM

Location: Seattle, Tucson, Austin, Baltimore. Now: Urbana, IL

I have no direct experience, but from what I've read the first two months are a critical time for placement.  If it is going to fall it out seems that it is most likely to do so during that time.  Maybe that is partly what the follow up appointment is for? 

Mama to Avalon 1/07 waterbirth.jpg, Austin 1/10 in between uc.jpgand Avery 12/11  h20homebirth.gif
fambedsingle1.gif   femalesling.GIF   winner.jpg   cd.gif     ecbaby2.gif  novaxnocirc.gif   goorganic.jpg  

#3 of 5 Old 10-14-2011, 02:32 PM

Did they cut the strings shorter at your placement appointment? If not they will probably do that.

I had mine put in 4.5y ago. Taken out this week.

I remember the 1st appointment. Blood work, prego test.

2nd appointment was placement.

I don't remember a follow-up, but our lives were crazy at that time. 4 kids and moving.
#4 of 5 Old 10-14-2011, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaimee View Post

I have no direct experience, but from what I've read the first two months are a critical time for placement.  If it is going to fall it out seems that it is most likely to do so during that time.  Maybe that is partly what the follow up appointment is for?