3 yrs no period, now had one 2 1/2 weeks ago for 3 days, and now having another ? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-20-2013, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I’m not sure if I’m posting this in the right spot or not, and this is my first time ever posting anything like this..

I’m 36 years old, I have 2 kids one will be 18 next month and the other is 13. I was diagnosed about 4 years ago with Poly cystic ovarian syndrome. During that same exam they also told me I had a fibroid tumor in my uterus. I was told it was nothing to worry about so I’ve not given it much thought.

The reason for my visit 4 years ago was because I had not been having a period on a regular basis for awhile. When they told me I had PCOS they said that’s why I was not having a regular period. I would often only have one every few months, or only a few times a year.

Now let’s fast forward to now. I had not had a period in about 3 years, I didn’t give it much thought as I was told it was normal when you have cysts on your ovaries. I am also overweight and was told that too can cause the cysts and lack of period. For about a year, from Nov 2009 to Nov 2010 ( about ) I was getting the depo shot. I got laid off and lost my health insurance so I stopped getting the shot and have not had any sort of birth control since.

I started to change my diet and have been losing weight ( about 20lbs in the last 45 days ).  Around May 1st I started what I assume was a period. It only lasted about 3 days, but for those 3 days it was fairly heavy but I also had a lot of clots. I didn’t think much of it, again, just assumed it was due to my recently weight loss..figured that just triggered it.  Then on May 18th only 2 ½ weeks after the last one, I’ve started bleeding again. So far it’s not heavy at all and no clots.  I’m just a little concerned due to it being only a couple weeks after the last period.