question for pro lifers - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 50 Old 05-03-2004, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quite often, I hear the pro life argument that if you don't want a pregnancy, then abstain. How does this work within a marriage? Do you not marry at all? Not engage in sexual activity?

For those who feel bc is wrong, what should people who must avoid pregnancy do? FAM isn't always possible.

I"m truly interested in your replies.

Yes, I"m pro choice. No, my mind is not changing.

I just wish to understand this position better.

Thank you.
#2 of 50 Old 05-03-2004, 12:42 PM

My dh and I have been using Natural Family Planning for 8 years of marriage and yes we abstain when I am fertile so as to avoid an undesired pregnancy. We have 2 children that were concieved when we were ready for them. So it has worked for us for approx 60 cycles (the other 20 I have been preg and lactating) For us it is about respecting our bodies. Makes no sense to us to eat organically, avoid unecessary medications, avoid exposure to chemicals and other pollutants and then turn around and take a hormone pill every day. The other side of the respect issue for us is respecting my gift of fertility. By abstaining during my fertile days, my dh is saying, "I respect your awesome powers of fertility and reproduction - we do not have use birth control so that I can pleasure myself at will - I have enough self control to abstain for 7 to 9 days" Hope that gives you some insight and some things to think about.

I don't think you have to be pro-life to use natural methods and have a healthy respect for your fertility. I believe there a lot of women here that use Fertility awareness and are pro-choice.
#3 of 50 Old 05-03-2004, 12:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by RubyV