Chances of getting pregnant? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 11-04-2008, 08:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My husband and I have been using the withdrawal 'method' for something like 3 years, and haven't been pregnant yet, granted we don't DTD that often....

What are the chances of getting pregnant using the withdrawal method? Does anyone know, other than websites geared towards teens, the searching is driving me nuts!!

Basically, getting pregnant right now would be awesome for us both, and not knowing every cycle if I am is tiresome. I've charted, but I can't be bothered honestly. We aren't trying, or not trying, therefore there is also often some left over 'love' on me, and often inside I assume too!

Ok, now that I've typed that, it seems as though we are basically as good as TTC, haha.

So, in a perfect world, what do you think the chances are of conceiving using the pull-out 'method'.

Birth Attendant. Placenta Encapsulator. Reiki Practitioner. Vegan. Aspiring Midwife. Breastfeeding Educator Student. Two years of trying for our love child.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 9 Old 11-04-2008, 08:38 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hesperia View Post
So, in a perfect world, what do you think the chances are of conceiving using the pull-out 'method'.
I'm pretty sure it has the hightest conception/failure rate of all...I'm guessing probably upwards of 20% or more thanks to the little pre-swimmers, kwim?

Momma to DD (12/04) hearts.gif and DS (11/09) hbac.gif.
I survived 16 mos! Ask me about breastfeeding a baby with posterior tongue tie, high palate, and weak oral motor skills- whew!

#3 of 9 Old 11-04-2008, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter

I just seems to unfair...you know.

Women trying and trying, but something like upwards of 19% (according to the FDA 1997, I just found it) chances during the first year.

Hmmm, with those %'s I swear I should be pregnant by now.