Equitable Parenting Moms or Dads? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 11-19-2010, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)

I haven't seen any threads or tribes out there, but I am wondering if there are any other natural, intuitive and/or AP parents out there who are also committed to equal parenting. I thought it might be nice to have a place where we could discuss the various challenges that arise when you try to share parenting totally equally with your partner.

DH & I are fully committed to equal parenting but I know it's (a) sometimes hard to let go of a "mother's instinct is best" mentality and (b) also hard to parent equally when DPs simply have different professional situations and/or goals.

We are also thinking of entering into a situation wherein DH would be SAHD. Is it possible to parent equally then?! I'm a student now and have a (relatively) flexible schedule so I'm at home more than DH... is that equal parenting?

Attachment to both parents is really important to us, so I think it'd be nice to connect with other parents facing similar challenges!

Maybe you can chime in with a description with your own attempts at equal parenting & we can go from there?

Thanks & hope to hear from some of you soon!

Mama to my little busy bee. 

#2 of 12 Old 11-21-2010, 12:08 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)