Homebirth in Central Florida - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-11-2009, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, I'm new to FL, planning pregnancy and want to have a home birth. This would be my third child, the others delivered in hospitals by midwives. Both of my pregnancies and deliveries were free of complications.

I'm just south of Ocala and have looked at Birth Center of Gainesville but wasn't very happy with their approach. Because I have depression and see a therapist, I am automatically disqualified from going to Birth Place in Winter Garden. I have an appointment for consultation at Heart 2 Heart in Sanford to see if I like them. What I keep coming back to though is that my other pregnancies and births have not had any problems, and all of the birth centers are 1.5 to 2 hours away, plus I have very short labors, all leading me to believe that I aught to be able to birth at home. I plan on having a back up OB at Winnie Palmer and seeing a Perinatologist to keep track of the babies developement because I do take medication. But, if the pregnancy is without complications, and the baby is decided to be fine, why should I even bother with a hospital or birth center. Also, one of my sisters had a home birth last year, and the other sister, who is on medication, had a birth center birth last year without problems.

So, all of that is to say, can anyone recommend a midwife in Central Florida who assists with home birth?

*ETA that we also have a Fire Department literally across the street from us if anything arose that I needed transport to a hospital.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2009, 06:56 PM