Mothering Forum banner

Looking for a midwife/birthing center in the Tampa Area

4K views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  s_kristina 
#1 ·
I am 27 and pregnant with my first child. Despite all the preparation, I feel unprepared. I am due in early June, and I want to do the birth as natural as possible. I am looking for a midwife and /or birthing center in the Tampa area.

Do I still go to my OBGYN?

I am "overweight", but it is not an issue for me and do not want that to be an issue for my provider. I have been eating organic for about two years now and I have incorporated exercise into my routine, so I am healthy.

Thanks ahead of time for your help! I am new to this forum and site and am looking forward to chatting with you all!

See less See more
#3 ·
Labor of Love has birth centers in both Lutz and Dunedin, and there is also Breath of Life in Largo. Im not sure what is going on with Countryside Birthing Place these days. Your weight will be looked at, because BMI is factored when factoring risk, and you may need physician review to birth there. I did, but its not big deal really, and the midwife never treated me differently. You do not need to see an OB to birth at a birth center. The midwife handles your prenatal care. If you have an issue needing OB care you will probably risk out of birth center birth. October 22nd the Tampa Bay Birth Network is hosting its meeting in Tampa focusing on midwifery care in our area. You should come if you can!

http://www.tampabaybirthnetwork.com/

#4 ·