New to all this--and contact info for Kay & Margaret - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 05-14-2011, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hey everyone--I'm new to all this and trying to get some basic info on natural childbirth. My husband and I are trying to conceive and I definitely want to have a natural birthing experience. From what I can see, Kay Johnson and Margaret Strickhouser are the way to go. Does anyone know which groups they are currently working with and the best way to contact them?

Additionally, we have private insurance and maternity is NOT covered so we'll be paying everything out-of-pocket. I know using a midwife instead of a normal practice is less expensive but does anyone know what kind of total amt. we should expect?

Thanks for all your help! :)

#2 of 10 Old 05-15-2011, 03:05 PM

Can you tell us what state & city you are in?

That might help us find the people you are looking for.

The average here seems to be over $3500 for cash pay. That doesn't include any labs, tests, or supplies.

#3 of 10 Old 05-15-2011, 03:41 PM

Margaret is with Intown Midwifery - www.intownmidwifery.com

Kay is doing homebirths now - www.gamidwife.com

Christine, mom to C(7.5) - E(5) - J(3) - B(10 mos)

Doula, childbirth educator, Co-leader of ICAN of Atlanta

"Never miss an opportunity to make others happy, even if you have to leave them alone in order to do it." ~Anonymous

#4 of 10 Old 05-16-2011, 12:32 PM

I just got my bill from IM and the charges were $3500, and the pp was correct, they don't include tests or u/s.

#5 of 10 Old 05-16-2011, 04:16 PM
CEG

Not to discourage you from using  midwife, but the costs are  pretty similar whether you use an OB or midwife.  It's around $3500.  The larger portion of the bill will be the hospital bill which is the same whether it's an OB or midwife-- although in theoy it will be a little cheaper with a midwife due to fewer interventions.