New mom in Atlanta, GA - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 09-25-2011, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Cross posting this from the introduction thread as well.

Hi!

I've got a little girl on the way sometime around the 14th of October.  I am super excited, and have been preparing for an unmedicated birth with doula support at Northside hospital.  I've got a monster stash of cloth diapers, plan on breastfeeding, will cosleep with our daughter in our king bed, and selectively vaccinate.  I've also currently got a horrible case of PUPPP that is driving me bonkers.  I've been a teacher of special needs students for 6 years now, so I feel pretty confidant with kiddos once they're over age 4.  That said, I've never changed a diaper in my life, so this whole baby experience is new to me!  I've been soaking up as much advice and knowledge as I can over the last 9 months.

At this point I'm specifically looking for thoughts and tips on dealing with PUPPP, finding a crunchy pediatrician, experiences with natural birth at Northside, and how to get to know some other moms in the area.

Looking forward to hearing from people soon!

#2 of 9 Old 09-27-2011, 05:58 AM

Welcome, mama! I had a horrible case of PUPP! The only thing that helped was making some watery oatmeal, straining off the liquid, soaking a cloth in it and laying it over my belly for awhile. It's gross and a bit slimy, but it worked better than anything else. Then rinse well and use an anti itch lotion like Sarna or a Calendula Cream ( I like California Baby). No advice on Northside, as I delivered my twins via CS at Piedmont, but I hope you have a great birth. There's a thread somewhere on this board about pedis, I think there's a great one in Alpharetta and one on the east side that the ladies here recommend.