Homebirth midwife in Asheville? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 01-12-2012, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi mamas!  We are recent transplants to WNC and just found out that we'll be adding one more babe to our family; we are looking for a homebirth midwife in the Asheville area and I would love reviews and recommendations if you could share!  I'm currently considering Sarah Rathbone of Maitri Midwifery and the New Dawn midwives group; any input would be greatly appreciated!  

Jill

#2 of 7 Old 01-13-2012, 07:35 AM

Hi Jill,

Welcome to WNC! I am a birth professional in the Asheville region and would be happy to speak with you in a private message regarding birthing options in our area. Due to the current midwifery laws, your "legal" options are limited. With that said, there are many alternate options that are not highly publicized. I have worked with or for many care providers and midwives and could give you some recommendations based on further details surrounding your vision for this labor and birth.

Also, on the off chance that you are not already aware of and/or a member of these groups, the following resources might provide excellent information for more specific questions you may have and may also assist you in meeting other mamas in our are.:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Ashevillemamas/     (Online Mama forum; good for questions/requests but can get a little "catty")

http://www.wncmountainmamas.proboards.com/index.cgi    (Another online forum; they also have gatherings/playdates. This is the board I visit most frequently, as it tends to run a little "crunchier" and so do I)

http://www.ashevillemommies.com/index.php    (Yet another online forum that also has gatherings. they seem to be in a decline right now and this forum tends to run a little more mainstream)

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ashevillelittleexplorers/  (Another group that regularly has events and outings)