Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (http://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   North and South Carolina and Tennessee (http://www.mothering.com/forum/78-north-south-carolina-tennessee/)
-   -   Potentially moving to Wilmington area (http://www.mothering.com/forum/78-north-south-carolina-tennessee/943852-potentially-moving-wilmington-area.html)

k9sarchik 08-04-2008 07:36 PM

My DH, DS and I are potentially moving to Southport in Nov-Dec. I'm checking in to see if there are any like minded moms in the area that are non-vax, holistic, AP?
I've noticed that there isn't a Waldorf school in Wilmington either. Is anyone working on potentially starting one?

I'm looking forward to going back to the East coast, but will be missing a lot that I have access to here in Colorado.

cadejaxellamom 08-12-2008 12:31 PM

Hi k9sarchik, I have lived in Wilmington for 11 years (since i graduated high school, came here for college and never left!) and I love living here. Southport is so beautiful and I love the "small town" atmosphere there, I would actually much rather live in Southport than here but my husband is unable to move there with his job. I am a mother of 3 beautiful children Cade 7, Jaxon 4 and Ella 9 months. I unfortunately don't know of many other mother's who share my thoughts on parenting (AP/no vax-as of yet, ect.) so if you do move here, lets PLEASE get together Most people think I'm a little wacko, so it would be nice to have some like company Oh, and I'm not sure about the Waldorf school, sorry.

nccrunchymama 08-13-2008 10:46 AM

I lived in Wilmington for several years, but we moved shortly after dd1 was born. I do know there is a Wilmington Homebirth Meetup group and a lot of those moms also practice AP, holistic, non or delayed vax parenting styles. There are other like-minded moms in the area, but it may be a bit of a search to find them. I don't know about a Waldorf school either.

k9sarchik 08-18-2008 05:12 PM