asheville - where do you/partner work???? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 11-07-2008, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So I'm lobbying my husband to try to get him to move to Asheville (we're currently in the Bay Area of California). But when I look on craigslist or online job sites, there doesn't seem to be much in the way of jobs....

So I'm just wondering, how do you guys support yourself there? We are open to a career change potentially or doing something like opening a business...but I maybe I'm just missing something....do you have a retail job and can you survive on that?

FWIW, my H has a PhD in Economics but has been in industry so he doesn't have "research" that could get him a job at the university. He would probably be a good candidate for teaching at a community college or the biz department at a university - and he would be open to doing adjunct work.

I am a video producer who is now a SAHM and I'm not looking to go back into the field...I'm a bit more flexible and am thinking about fundraising or maybe transcription as a career choice...or starting some kind of business.

So what are the best careers for folks in Asheville? What is there a demand for?

tia
peace,
robyn
#2 of 5 Old 11-07-2008, 10:41 AM

We're a town that survives on the tourist industry. So most jobs don't pay crap There are also TONS of people who want to live here, so the demand for finding jobs is higher than the demand for workers, unfortunately. Which makes wages go down quite a bit, even for teachers, builders, etc.

I run a daycare (there's ALWAYS a need for childcare), and sell thrift store finds on ebay, as well as any odd jobs I can find to make ends meet.

there are lots of jobs for builders here or anything in the construction industry, though they don't pay that much (when my ex moved here he took a $10/hr pay cut for the same job in framing).