NOVA Natural Birth Hospital/OB/Midwife recommendation - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 06-04-2011, 06:28 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi :)  I'm new to NOVA and TTC my second child and looking for hospital and OB/midwife recommendations for the Alexandria/Arlington area.  I have to deliver in a hospital so birth centers unfortunately aren't an option for me, but my ideal situation would be to have a home birth type of experience in a hospital (if that's even possible!)  Also, does anyone know if there are any hospitals in the area that offer water births?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 06-07-2011, 04:51 AM

Unfortunately, I don't think you'll find a hospital that offers water births. Some of the Inova hospitals have tubs that you can labor in, but you would have to get out before you start pushing.

Here's a link to the one closest to you: http://www.inova.org/healthcare-services/womens-health/childbirth/index.jsp

There are virtual tours for the different hospitals on the sidebar. I hope you're able to find a place that will give you the birth you want!

ribboncesarean.gif 2/4/2009.  hbac.gif 9/6/2011!

#3 of 8 Old 06-07-2011, 09:09 AM

You will not find any hospital in the Metro DC area that offers water births.

There are a couple that have tubs that you can labor in *if* 1. the room with the tub is available when you arrive at the hospital, 2. you have signed orders from your OB/MW allowing you to labor in the tub, 3. you have absolutely no issues with your pregnancy or labor that they think might cause a liability issue if they allow you to labor in the tub (such as non-reassuring fetal heart tones while you are being monitored, slightly elevated blood pressure, etc)  You will have to get out of the tub to push and birth.