New, military, and need help! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-04-2011, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to the Newport News/ Hampton, VA area. My husband is active duty Air Force and I'm 31 weeks pregnant. The hospital on base has said that they can't take me for prenatal care cause they have already met their "quota" for August (EDD Aug 4 2011). They wanted to send me to Portsmouth on the naval station to get my prenatal care and deliver. (i was told that i can't even deliver at the base hospital). in order to get to those appts and deliver I would have to drive and hour or more (i'm coming from Yorktown). I really don't want to do that cause we can't afford the gas and who wants to be in labor in the car for over an hour? I am going to do my best to get referred to another hospital here (riverside, i was told that that one has a good maternity wing) otherwise i'm going to birth at home. I was wondering if any of you mamas on here had any input as to who i should see about getting a midwife and if there are any around there that are military friendly. The people on base have been frustrating me a lot saying that i'm not allowed to go anywhere else or something. I know that i'm allowed to go out on the economy, i just get so upset over the fact that i don't understand everything that i start to cry while talking with them (it's the worst emotional thing about being pregnant right now). Please help me out. I'd love to have a homebirth, but haven't been preparing for it for the entire pregnancy. I have 2 months to prepare for it and everything else that entails a first child.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2011, 09:38 PM