midwives in Fort Wayne and surrounding area - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 03-06-2010, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello. I'm new to this online community. I was advised by a trusted mom friend that this would be a great place to come to ask around about midwives in the area. I'm not sure whether I want a home or hospital birth, and haven't interviewed any midwives yet. I'm looking for a situation that keeps the baby and I as safe as can be while allowing me the most freedoms possible in my laboring and parenting decisions, feeling that I don't have to fight all my caregivers every step of the way and that I can trust them because they share my philosophy of childbirth. I am also looking to avoid an unnecessary cesarean section, since in our area, the rate is 30%, about twice as high as it should be. I would like the most natural birth possible that is also very safe and avoids a c-section. (I realize SOME c-sections are necessary, many are not.) I also don't want to be judged by hospital staff when I implement attachment parenting practices and reject newborn care protocols left and right. I want to do what's best for my baby, but sometimes that conflicts with what hospitals normally do for newborns. For example, I want to forgo early separation for the baby to be bathed, nurse on demand and ignore the push for more scheduled feedings, and use the kangacarrier for sleeping. (Co-sleeping is VERY frowned upon in the hospitals here to say it mildly.) If I do give birth in the hospital, I want to know that the hospital cannot override my decision-making or the midwife's decision making, such as when the hospital thinks a c-section is necessary when it isn't. However, if I am not going to come accross these problems in a hospital, then I would like to have a hospital birth, because with our insurance plan, a hospital birth would actually be less expensive for us. I think homebirth would cost at leas