looking for home birth midwife in/around bloomington, in - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-04-2010, 02:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
One of my good friends is pregnant and is strongly considering a home birth. She lives in Bloomington. Can anyone recommend a home birth midwife that serves in that area? Or are there any midwives in Indy who are willing to drive that far?

Thanks!

helpmeet. mama to Sam (1.18.09 ) and another baby boy (due 2.1.2011 ). planning our first .
#2 of 8 Old 09-05-2010, 05:06 PM

I'm an apprentice midwife here in Bloomington - PM me and I can give you some info about the midwives here!
#3 of 8 Old 09-06-2010, 12:35 AM

Contact BABS (Bloomington Area Birth Services) for more information. Here is a link to the website: http://www.bloomingtonbirth.org/
#4 of 8 Old 06-04-2012, 10:46 AM

Hello, My name is Reesa Helms. My husband is Jordan Helms and he will be 19 June 18. Iam 19, will be 20 june 16. Iam currently 18weeks and 2days pregant. Iam wanting a water birth. Not sure if i want it at home or not. I have insurence through the state. NOt sure weather they will cover me in this decision. Im really scared about giving birth in a hosptial. Heard water births are more calm and gives you more oppertunties to give birth at your own pace. Would love this. I live in Bloomfield indiana. 30 mintues from Bloomington. I have a OB/GYN now in Lyons Indiana. She is good. But dont do water briths. Not sure what to do. If all possible would love more information on this. And would love to know if my insurence will cover a water birth. Just let me know. Thank You So Much.

God Bless, Reesa and Jordan Helms

#5 of 8 Old 06-12-2012, 07:19 PM

Reesa- I recommend Andrea Dixon, CNM. http://www.iuhealth.net/portal/IUH/findadoctor?paf_gear_id=6900001&paf_dm=full&paf_gm=content&task_name=displayBio&contactId=50766