Mothering Forum banner

Relocating to Columbus, Ohio- would love tips!

4K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  Lillitu 
#1 ·
I am a student mama with a toddler (currently almost 17 months). This fall, we are relocating from the San Francisco Bay Area to Columbus, Ohio. I am a tad freaked out, as it is not somewhere that I thought of moving before (OK, I admit it, I am a "coastal snob"
bag.gif
).

I am looking for tips on neighborhoods, services, and community. I am an AP mama who is likely going to homeschool and run an in-home daycare. I want to have an urban homestead that supports us and is also fun real-life education for the kids in my life. What neighborhoods would suit me?

I am wondering if anyone knows the Ohio statutes for in-home daycares (I only know the California ones).

I have heard on "game days" there are riots, no matter of OSU wins or loses. How to stay out of that fray?

Any tips on finding affordable housing and PT jobs that aren't craigslist?

I also would love to meet other AP, pagan, queer, and/or poly folks who would like to have their toddlers have playdates with my son (he is losing friends by moving!). Any playgroups that y'all know of?

Things that are important to me: sustainable living (farmer's markets, CSAs, co-ops, crafty people and places, homesteaders), attachment parenting and gentle discipline, herbalism, midwifery, wildlife rehabilitation (out here, I rehab crows and ravens), nature (woods, lakes, rivers, the ocean, etc.), witchcraft and paganism, community building and social justice, Unitarian Universalism, teaching/education, homeschooling, unschooling, animals (my son also loves animals)- especially birds (we have parrots, I love corvids).

Please feel free to chime in with any tips or anything that springs to mind!

Thank you in advance!

See less See more
#2 ·