Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 10 Old 07-05-2011, 05:08 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

I've had lots of positive experiences with them as a doula and as a midwife collaborating with them. I've also had experiences working with clients with blood clotting disorders as both a midwife and doula, so if you want to talk about that, feel free to pm me.  I have found that even though UofM has a lot of flaws, there is a culture of trying to respect patient wishes there and trying to preserve informed consent.  Their new hospital, which will be open in November, has better waterbirth facilities than the current one, so I hope that they will do better with making waterbirth a viable option.  The delayed cord clamping and the placenta-keeping are non-issues there -- they will respect your wishes with those.

There are several midwives I recommend there -- Joann Bailey, Heather Lemon, Lisa Schieman, among others.

Good luck!

Stacia -- intrepid mama, midwife, and doula. Changing the world one 'zine at a time.
#3 of 10 Old 08-09-2011, 08:35 AM

When you say that UofM has a lot of flaws, what kinds of flaws are you talking about. I've scheduled an appointment with the UofM midwives and am very interested in a natural birth (waterbirth if possible). I'm looking for someplace that will respect my wishes and am hoping that University Hospital will be a good fit. 

#4 of 10 Old 08-29-2011, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)

#5 of 10 Old 11-18-2011, 07:15 PM

Hi,

I'm due in March with my first baby and am also using the U of M midwives. I have not had too many visits, honestly, because I have been completing an internship out of state, but will be back in a few weeks for good.

The visits that I have had have gone really well though.

Does anyone know what the new hospital is like? I heard that it opened this month and have not been able to see it since I have been out of state.