Lay midwife Susan Rusk: any insights? Or other recommendations? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-02-2011, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I live in southeast Michigan (south of Jackson), just far enough away from Ann Arbor, Kalamazoo and Lansing that midwives from any of these places will not travel to my home. The only midwives from any of these cities who will serve me are those from New Moon Midwifery, but they are a bit pricey for us.

So, I have two other alternatives. First is a homebirth with Mother's Own Birth Center (I would prefer a homebirth rather than in the center). They're about 1.5 hours from me, though, and my prenatals would be at the center. If anyone's had a great experience with them, I'd love to hear!

Second is Susan Rusk, a local lay midwife (based in Jonesville, I believe). She has no "formal" education or training, is self-taught, but says she's been at at least 1,800 births. A trusted midwife (Pat Kramer in AA) highly recommends Susan. But, this feels like a major leap of faith and I'm not completely comfortable with the idea. Can anyone else offer some first-hand insight into Susan Rusk? It would be very much appreciated! Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-03-2011, 09:59 AM

Hey!  I've used both midwives....Mothers Own and Sue Rusk.  Maybe we can get together for dinner or coffee or something and discuss?

Amanda, wife to A , mama to D ('05), O ('07), and W ('10)
Old 11-03-2011, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter

Hi again! Yes, I'd love to get together and discuss! I talked about this with Steve last night for the first time, and he is 99.6% certain that we should go with Mother's Own/Linda, but I think we'll still meet them both. It's an almost-100%-financial decision for Steve, but at least either way it is NOT the hospital! I'm going away this weekend but I'd love to get together ... perhaps a good excuse to cook up another girl's night/sushi visit? eat.gif