HI! I'm a student doulanew to the Cleveland area! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 01-08-2012, 02:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi everyone! I'm new to Cleveland and I'm hoping to start attending births soon. I'm also new to posting on MDC, although I have been reading it for quite some time. MDC is actually how I learned about homebirth and started getting really interested in birth in general.

I'm a DONA-trained birth doula, but I haven't attended my certification births yet. I would be very willing and happy to attend some births for a low cost, since I'm not certified yet.

Some stuff about me:

I'm 23 and I don't have any kids of my own yet. So I guess that means I don't have any baggage from my own births and I won't have to find childcare when clients go into labor!

I have BAs in Women's Studies and English Literature and I'm currently finishing up my MA in Women's and Gender Studies with a focus on Reproductive Justice.

I consider myself a full-spectrum doula, which means that I believe that doulas can and should support women throughout the full spectrum of pregnancy, whether women choose parenting, adoption or abortion, as well as women who experience miscarriage or stillbirth.

I'm really passionate about natural birth, but since I work in the medical field, I'm also really comfortable in operating rooms. I would say that in my academic work, my doula work and my day job, my goal is to help women parent and birth on their own terms, and to help women feel okay when things don't go as planned. So few of the women I talk to every day have had satisfying birth experiences and it just makes me want to help women to achieve the births that they want!