Yooper Mamas, Say Ya to da UP, EH? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 1579 Old 10-22-2005, 01:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I don't know if there is a thread for us yet! I haven't lived in the UP for 7 years now, but to me that is still home and always will be! I'm from Houghton, lived there all my life until DH finished grad school at MTU and we came down to the Saginaw area. If anyone else here is from that area, doesn't the Keweenaw Co-op ROCK? Both my parents still live up there and we go back as much as we can so they can get to know DS. I'm a Finnish girl too! Just wondering who else here is from there!
#2 of 1579 Old 11-04-2005, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter

Nobody??
#3 of 1579 Old 11-05-2005, 08:26 AM

I just had to post so your thread get's a reply!

Sorry, I've been in the Metro Detroit area all my life.
#4 of 1579 Old 11-07-2005, 01:25 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I'm new to both the UP and to this site. I live close to the co-op and go almost every day! This site is overwhelming and wonderful, wow! How do you get around it and when will it snow? After months of folks talking up the weather, I sure haven't seen much action yet....We sure love the area though, love the people, the fresh air, multitudes of trees and MTU preschool.
#5 of 1579 Old 11-07-2005, 01:05 PM

I'm a displaced Yooper right now. I grew up in the UP near Menominee, Michigan and lived there for 19 years. Then my husband joined the Air Force and now we live in IL. We have been talking about moving to Sault St. Marie when his 4 year term is up, so he can attend LSSU. I'm glad to see other Yoopers on here!

Jen - Mama to V (b. 2-18-09) and AJ (b. 10-9-11) Wife to DH

#6 of 1579 Old 11-07-2005, 01:45 PM