Provider vs. Birthing facility - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 07-29-2009, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So in your opinion which is more important?

We toured the hospital last night and I was so under impressed. I literally had an anxiety attack on the way home. One of my major issues is that I have 4 other children. This hospital only allows 4 people to visit, spouses and children count in that number. So basically my husband couldn't bring all 4 of the kids up at the same time. I asked about an exception and was told that it would depend on who was on and how busy the unit was at that time. Now I adore my midwife, and trust her completely, BUT there is no guarentee that she will be the one on call that day.
SO I talked to my husband and we are going to tour the birth center in Arnold. But now I am very anxious over the fact that I won't know these midwives as well.

Basically anyone who has made this decision, which is more important the place you birth or the person who catches?
#2 of 22 Old 07-29-2009, 10:56 PM

Well, I adore the midwives at Special Beginnings. I've had 3 kids there and been thrilled with them.
Have you had other births at AAMC? I was there a few times while pregnant and the care really depends on the person you get. Some of the nurses were great and some not so. I went to help my sister in law at her birth and took my infant with me. Some of the nurses were ok with him being there but then after the shift change, the next nurse made me leave. You wouldn't want an infant in the maternity ward, after all!

I vote for Spec Beg!!

: mama to 4 boys
: : :
#3 of 22 Old 07-30-2009, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter

I am sorry I don't know what aamc is.
My first 2 were born at Fransklin square, (before I knew better)