Extremely frustrated with the academic climate of Baltimore county. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-13-2012, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My child will be 5 on November 23 so she can not enter kindergarten this fall even thought she is ready both with her maturity and knowledge base. I'm so frustrated by this. She is begging me to go and it breaks my heart to say no. I have been homeschooling her for about 2 years now but it has been very relaxed. 

I've called our assigned school as well as the office of early childhood education office. The school was very apologetic but the early childhood education office was just snarky. There is no test or anything they will do for her and even if we do homeschooling again this year she will just be placed in kindergarten next year when she will really be on a 1st grade math and 2nd grade everything else. 

The office of early childhood education assured me that kids worked closely with G&T but then when I asked for clarification G&T doesn't start until 2nd grade!

I'm not really sure what to do. I had planned to home school through elementary school but DD wanting to actually go to school has put a major kink in all my plans. 

Should I just not do school this year so she'll be on the same level as the other kids next year? Is that even fair to her? I'm not really sure what I should do.

Anyone with experience with a smart kid and a bad birth date?

Proud wife to DH, mommy to DD 11/23/07, our little rainbow1284.gif baby boy 2/19/12. We vbac.gifnocirc.gifwinner.jpgcd.gif delayedvax.gifselectivevax.gif.femalesling.GIF

namaste.gif   *****Remember to love your boobies once a month!*** ribbonpink.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2012, 08:10 PM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)

Hello, Mama!!