Homebirth Group In NYC? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 07-01-2009, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi ladies,

I am new to mothering.com, and currently expecting #2 in January. I live in Manhattan now but we're soon moving to Park Slope. I'm planning a homebirth this time (#1 was born while I was living in Europe so totally different system).

This website has been a fabulous resource, but I was just wondering if anyone knew of a homebirth group in Manhattan or Brooklyn. I would love to connect with other moms with a similar attitude/plans towards birthing.

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 18 Old 07-01-2009, 09:06 PM

:

Liz, wife to John, mom to Dylan and my giant slug zocha :
#3 of 18 Old 07-02-2009, 12:09 PM

Hi,
I live in PSlope and had a homebirth about 11 months ago. I don't know of any such a group except for the homebirth class with Natashia Fuksman. I'm friends with quite a few of the moms from the homebirth class I was in. I find it hard enough to find and meet moms in the neighborhood but I do know there are more home birthers than you would think.

Are you looking for a social home birth group or a home birth class?

Enjoy your upcoming birth!

Baby wearing Mamma to DS, dealing with all his allergies....and thriving w/another little bundle due in Early Feb
#4 of 18 Old 07-03-2009, 11:49 AM

I don't know of any group that exists like this (although it would be nice! Perhapds we should make one!). I also had a homebirth in Brooklyn, a couple years ago now. If you have quetions about midwives (in Park Slope, you are surrounded by them) or classes (Natashia is wonderful), I am sure we can all help hook you up!

Congrats!

Megan Davidson, Labor & Postpartum Doula, Breastfeeding Counselor, Anthropologist, Mom to August (9) and Clay (4), Partner to Shawn.

#5 of 18 Old 07-03-2009, 07:29 PM