NY mamas: Refusing the eye ointment and the vitamin K - is it possible? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 07-01-2010, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
Banned

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Has anyone here ever been able to successfully do this?

I'm planning a home birth and I think I've found a way around it there, but I'm a risk for PE because of pre-existing hypertension so if I end up having to transfer to the hospital (I have an awesome OB/GYN who is also watching me through my pregnancy) then I want to be prepared because who knows how I'll feel after the birth, you know.

I'm a lawyer so I'm fully prepared to fight, but I thought that asking you guys first would be a good idea. So:

Has anyone here ever successfully refused the erythromycin eye ointment and/or the vitamin K? If so, how'd you do it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 22 Old 07-01-2010, 03:30 PM

DS didn't have it and we had a home birth, not all midwives don't do it, but we had a very *lenient* one shall we say? We did give DS some oral vit K because we had it from another friend who had a home birth.

I've never heard of successfully not getting it in the hospital. We're now planning another HB w/a different midwife and she won't not do it, but she doesn't care if we wipe it off right away, which is what I think most people do in hospitals when they don't want it.

Baby wearing Mamma to DS, dealing with all his allergies....and thriving w/another little bundle due in Early Feb
#3 of 22 Old 07-01-2010, 03:34 PM

Here's a link I found w/some more information:
http://ffitz.com/nyvic/law/vitamin-k.htm

Baby wearing Mamma to DS, dealing with all his allergies....and thriving w/another little bundle due in Early Feb
#4 of 22 Old 07-01-2010, 04:13 PM

I've heard several moms who have had homebirths and didn't do it, but not the same in the hospital.