Looking for a HB friendly pediatrician in Queens, preferably North-East Queens or North-West Nassau - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 05-16-2011, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi all,

I am planning a homebirth (it is right around the corner) and since I am new to Whitestone, Queens and Queens as a whole, I have been interviewing local peds I found off of google maps.

Honestly, it has been truly disappointing. They don't have any clients with homebirths and they act as if they cannot figure out what a midwife does. They are also really medically oriented from the get-go.

Does anyone know of a doctor in this area who would be welcoming us for a first visit and from then on?

I would like to travel, but not as far as Manhattan or Brooklyn. Of course, if I have to, I will. But I am hoping that natural mothering has spread to this part of town.

P.S. Our insurance is Aetna.

Thank you!!!

Sincerely,

Teodora

#2 of 3 Old 05-19-2011, 06:08 PM

Hi,

Dr. Izak Reischer in Forest Hills is HB friendly.  Call the office (718-268-6200) and they will schedule you for a consultation with him.  I did that when I was pregnant with a few docs and he was really the only one who was supportive of HB.  Honestly, I was not extremely impressed after I met him and needless to say the office space leaves a lot to be desired but he was HB supportive and other people that I know use him love him so I decided to give him a shot.  I cannot be more pleased with him and the office staff - he is very thorough, explains everything etc

#3 of 3 Old 08-14-2012, 10:15 PM