Radical black mama with interracial family looking for mamas to hang with in West Philly! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 06-22-2012, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Greetings!

My partner is starting a graphic design job at a non-profit in Philadelphia and family and I are moving from STL to West Philadelphia in August and I am looking for some friends!

My family consists of myself, my 6 month old daughter and my male partner. We are into baby wearing, breastfeeding, co-sleeping, etc. and we are a mostly vegan family. I love to cook, ride bikes, spend time outdoors, sew, make art and play! I am also an artist and part time art teacher here in STL.

We are a multi-racial family I'm black, partner is white. Looking for some solidarity with black and brown mamas/ interracial families but really any like minded folks are just wonderful!!

We are also looking for recommendations on doctors that are no-vax/delayed schedule friendly in the area.

Peace!

#2 of 5 Old 06-26-2012, 07:50 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Just wanted to say hello! I don't live in that area any more but used to live near Phila. I hope you find some like minded folks soon! I would think there would be lots of cool folks in West Philly. Is the Phila Folksong Society still going? I used to meet people at their shows a lot, but that was before kids!!

#3 of 5 Old 07-08-2012, 05:30 PM

Look into a yahoo group called TBC Breastfeeding support (also a FB group). It's an amazing group of breast feeders and they have biweekly meetings in West Philly. It would be a great place to meet other moms.
It's affiliated with the birth center in Bryn Mawr, but anyone can attend. Good luck!

Happy SAHM Mom and CBE to three jumpers.gifboys:  DS1 (11/06), DS2 (7/08), DS3 (11/10) and D?4 (12/12)!

#4 of 5 Old 07-14-2012, 11:12 AM

Hi!