Can anyone recommend a Bergen County, NJ OB/GYN for someone who is over 40 and will soon begin trying to have her first baby? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 02-09-2013, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I am a newbie to the site and excited to be a part of this like minded community.

I'm hoping you all can help me! I am 43 and am starting to plan to try and have a baby.  I know I should have started trying sooner but circumstance did not lend itself to it.  I am looking for an OB/GYN in my area that delivers babies for women my age plus hopefully has a midwife on staff or at least looks at a woman holistically.

Does anyone have experience with a doctor or MW out of Bergen County, NJ they'd recommend? Perhaps a Doctor that is affiliated with Hackensack or Valley Hospitals?

Any help you can give is MUCH appreciated!! Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 12 Old 02-10-2013, 06:57 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is Mountainside Hospital in Montclair a possibility? Dr. Winsome Parchment is very well respected and highly recommended by women looking for a more holistic experience.

Mom to Liam 9/06, spirit baby 3/09, and identical twins Mateo and Sebastian 10/11namaste.gif

#3 of 12 Old 02-10-2013, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter

That is definitely a possibility.  Thank you so much for sharing!

#4 of 12 Old 02-11-2013, 02:44 PM

Have you looked at the providers from New Jersey BirthNetwork?  http://www.njbirthnetwork.org/Provider_Directory.html   They've all signed the Mother Friendly Childbirth Initiative. http://www.motherfriendly.org/MFCI  

There are also some really phenomenal questions here to ask prospective doctors to see if they are on board with your wishes.  http://www.motherfriendly.org/Resources/Documents/Having_a_Baby-English.pdf