Mothering Forum banner

Push to make homebirth ILLEGAL in CT ***hearing on March 10th***

1K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  Beccasteve03 
#1 ·
The Connecticut Department of Health's Medical Examining Board previously ruled that Midwifery is the UNLAWFUL Practice of Medicine. An appeal to this ruling has been filed in a court of law and arguments will be heard March 10th.

These proceedings may dictate future access to Homebirth by indepedent midwives or CPM's. If this issue is close to your heart, please come to the New Britain courthouse to show your SUPPORT for Independent Homebirth Midwifery.

#4 ·
What time on the 10th? I have a midwife appointment that day, appropriately, but would love to show support!

Also, I'm new to CT from NY where we just had amazing success legalizing homebirth after our midwives lost their written practice agreements. However most homebirth midwives in NYC are CNMs or CMs. Just out of curiosity, do any CNMs serve homebirth in CT? Where we've just moved (Norwalk) there seems to be only one or two homebirth midwives available, both CPMs.

Thanks!

#5 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarefootinBrooklyn View Post

What time on the 10th? I have a midwife appointment that day, appropriately, but would love to show support!

Also, I'm new to CT from NY where we just had amazing success legalizing homebirth after our midwives lost their written practice agreements. However most homebirth midwives in NYC are CNMs or CMs. Just out of curiosity, do any CNMs serve homebirth in CT? Where we've just moved (Norwalk) there seems to be only one or two homebirth midwives available, both CPMs.

Thanks!
It's at 10am in the New Britain Superior Court, 20 Franklin Square, New Britain. There's a public parking garage behind the courthouse.
It's in Judge Henry Cohn's Courtroom, which is 3F on the third floor. If you are on Facebook, there is more info here-

http://www.facebook.com/#!/event.php?eid=112304405513636