Outdoor Preschool Program- what would you want/expect? Cross posted in Education - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 10-04-2011, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi, 

I've been musing for several years about starting an outdoor preschool program. I'm trying to form more specific goals for this program.  If you wouldn't mind responding to this thread to give me some initial feedback I would greatly appreciate it!

Keep in mind: I live in Massachusetts, so it gets cold and icy here!

Would you enroll your child in a preschool program which is predominantly outside all school year?

Would you enroll them as an alternative to a regular preschool or as a supplement in addition to their regular preschool?

Would you want/expect "academics" to a part of this program (reading, math skills, etc.)?

How many days a week would you be interested in (3-5 years old)?  How many hours?

Would you prefer to enroll for a whole year or have the option of only signing up by semester?

If your child is in half day kindergarten, would you be interested in this as an afternoon program for them?

What would in expect in the way of access to shelter and bathrooms?

What would you expect to be the lowest temperature in which children are allowed to remain outside?

What percentage of outdoor time vs. indoor time would be ideal for you?  (i.e. 75% of time outside, 25% inside, etc.)

Any other concerns/opinions/ideas?

Thanks so much!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 9 Old 10-04-2011, 05:12 PM

Interesting idea!! Not sure if we're doing preschool but here are my thoughts:

Would you enroll your child in a preschool program which is predominantly outside all school year?
My DS is not very tolerant of the cold, so I would not want him out all winter, but the rest of the year sounds nice.

Would you enroll them as an alternative to a regular preschool or as a supplement in addition to their regular preschool?