Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (http://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island (http://www.mothering.com/forum/83-connecticut-massachusetts-rhode-island/)
-   -   Cooley Dickinson vs. Baystate Franklin (http://www.mothering.com/forum/83-connecticut-massachusetts-rhode-island/1354075-cooley-dickinson-vs-baystate-franklin.html)

April in MA 05-24-2012 05:06 PM

After having a less-than-positive experience with how the OB at Womancare Hadley treated me after my miscarriage, I am thinking about seeing a midwife for my next pregnancy. I want a hospital birth, so I have been looking at the midwife practices at Cooley Dickinson and Baystate Franklin hospitals. Does anyone have any experiences with either of those practices that they could share? I live a little bit closer to Greenfield, so I'm inclined to go there, but would love to know what people think.

My primary care is through UMass health services (I'm a grad student), which has been great.

orangemomma 05-27-2012 08:20 AM

I can only respond to the Baystate Franklin experience - I had my daughter there in 2011. I found the nursing staff to be mostly great (about 90% of them). My stay was brief - less than 24 hrs. The nurses were knowledgeable and honored all of my wishes - they listened.

I went through Pioneer Womens - it is midwives and OBs - they may be the only group that has privileges there ?? Not sure.

My struggle with this practice group is that they do a call rotation so you don't know who (from within their group) will be on-call for midwifery and help to deliver your baby. I did not care for this myself. My suggestion is to be sure you meet everyone in the practice (of the midwives anyway).

I also hired a doula - can't say enough good things about her. 

You could PM me if you have more specific questions

Good luck with your decision making!

DoulaMarissa 06-13-2012 03:00 PM

Hi there,