Cooley Dickinson vs. Baystate Franklin - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 05-24-2012, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

After having a less-than-positive experience with how the OB at Womancare Hadley treated me after my miscarriage, I am thinking about seeing a midwife for my next pregnancy. I want a hospital birth, so I have been looking at the midwife practices at Cooley Dickinson and Baystate Franklin hospitals. Does anyone have any experiences with either of those practices that they could share? I live a little bit closer to Greenfield, so I'm inclined to go there, but would love to know what people think.

My primary care is through UMass health services (I'm a grad student), which has been great.

#2 of 3 Old 05-27-2012, 08:20 AM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)

I can only respond to the Baystate Franklin experience - I had my daughter there in 2011. I found the nursing staff to be mostly great (about 90% of them). My stay was brief - less than 24 hrs. The nurses were knowledgeable and honored all of my wishes - they listened.

I went through Pioneer Womens - it is midwives and OBs - they may be the only group that has privileges there ?? Not sure.

My struggle with this practice group is that they do a call rotation so you don't know who (from within their group) will be on-call for midwifery and help to deliver your baby. I did not care for this myself. My suggestion is to be sure you meet everyone in the practice (of the midwives anyway).

I also hired a doula - can't say enough good things about her. 

You could PM me if you have more specific questions

Good luck with your decision making!

Breastfeeding, babywearing, homeschooling momma to two. 223/2014 items in decluttering challenge (643 items gone last year 2013, 625 gone in 2012)
#3 of 3 Old 06-13-2012, 03:00 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi there,