anyone know how to get raw milk in LA? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 54 Old 05-13-2009, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi...I live in Lafayette, LA. I'm just beginning to learn all about raw milk, and I'm VERY ANXIOUS to get my hands on some! (just short of buying my own cow!)

I've read that it's illegal in LA...does anyone have any connections with any dairy farmers or know where I can go to find some raw milk?

Thanks so much!
Jennifer
#2 of 54 Old 05-24-2009, 07:44 PM

Well, I'm in Shreveport and I've found my own source here. I got it by word of mouth. I posted on freecycle (yahoo group, join it in your area if you haven't already) to give away some kefir grains and the lady that responded told me about her raw milk provider. You could try some vets in rural areas that might know of people with goats or cows. There's a co-op here that buys goat milk in TX and brings it over to LA.

Doula and SAHM to Xander (4) and Lorelei (1.5). EC gave me courage to CD! Our children are intact. Our surprise 1st bio baby due Dec 2010!
#3 of 54 Old 06-12-2009, 01:07 AM

Ack... I'm in Thibodaux. I didn't realize it was illegal in Louisiana, but we have been trying to find raw milk here for about a year or two now.

~Celeste~ Loving mama to 3 of the most beautiful miracles ever created and wife to Mr. Wonderful
#4 of 54 Old 06-13-2009, 09:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MamaOf3Cuties View Post
Ack... I'm in Thibodaux. I didn't realize it was illegal in Louisiana, but we have been trying to find raw milk here for about a year or two now.
It's technically illegal to sell for human consumption, but you can either buy a share in the cow (pay a one time sum and then be an owner of the cow, so you can drink your own cow's milk and pay a handling fee), or buy it for your "animals" to drink.

Or just do it very quietly and no one will care.