Mothering Forum banner

Daycare in Medical District- Chicago

4K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  CEG 
#1 ·
Can anyone recommend a daycare in/near the medical district? We will be starting in January. I prefer a larger setting but I would consider a home daycare also. TIA!

#3 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mama2Tristan View Post
I heard there is a daycare center on UIC's campus near the School of Nursing. I don't have any other information to give to you.

Are you by chance in the GEP program?
Thanks for the info. I am a GEP grad now working on my master's. How did you know?

The daycare on UIC is supposed to be excellent but I have a newborn and they only take two years and up- I am hoping to find somewhere where all of my kids can be in the same place.

Thanks for the reply.

#4 ·
I am starting the GEP portion in January, and your user name sounded familiar. I think I had asked you questions before regarding the GEP portion.

I am still nervous about starting wondering if I can handle being a mom and full time student, but there are other students with the same situation as mine....

Good luck finding daycare for your newborn. Just out of curiosity, did UIC allow you to take a break from classes for maternity leave?

#5 ·
Hi - we've thoroughly explored ALL infant daycare options in the area - there aren't nearly as many infant slots as there needs to be:

1. New Zion Childcare Academy (13th and Damen) - our son went there for a year and it's a good place.

2. Taylor Tots on Taylor and Loomis - took our son there briefly but wasn't happy with it. Director wasn't very good at communicating and I didn't think they had enough staff

3. Easter Seals on Morgan and Roosevelt - I just checked this place out and my daughter's on the waiting list for the infant room but they don't have any openings until late in the spring