planning a week in wisconsin! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 04-25-2010, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi! We live in southern MN and are planning to spend a week in Wisconsin with our 4.5yo dd this June. SO excited! We're leaving on a Saturday morning, would like to spend that night in Madison, then somehow through Milwaukee (maybe Sunday and Monday nights?) and into Door County. We have camping reservations at Peninsula State Park for that Tuesday and Wednesday, and I'm trying to figure out if we'll want to stay in Door County for longer than that, and if we should then plan on another day or two in Milwaukee- or if we should try to spend a little time around Baraboo/Dells on the way home. Since we're close enough to theoretically drive to the Dells for a weekend if we wanted, I'm leaning towards allowing for more time in Door County and Milwaukee. What do you think? I'm a geologist, so very interested in seeing neat natural areas, but my dh likes to be entertained- so we're hoping to get a good balance and keep things fun for our dd as well. Would love any and all suggestions!!

ETA: I should also mention that we're going to OshKosh in July for the airshow and could potentially stop in the Dells on our way there-- but if there's a lot of really neat stuff to see there, then I'm totally happy to incorporate it into our bigger trip. So hard to know how long to stay in each place!
#2 of 12 Old 04-26-2010, 03:29 PM

The Dells....while I know there must be some other types of activities there, what I know the most about is the touristy stuff. There are amazing water parks and some fun shops; things like the Ducks rides are amazing and should help a geologist have a little more fun in such a campy place! I have never been to Door County and hear it is great--but I would guess your child would have a good time in the Dells.

Single HB mama to 2!
#3 of 12 Old 05-18-2010, 11:10 AM