Therapist in MPLS - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 05-22-2010, 11:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I think my child may have a personality disorder. Can anyone recommend a really good therapist in MPLS? I'm looking specifically with someone who can diagnose and treat him (or us) if necessary. Thanks

Married to love of my life! Children 6, 4 1/2, 2 1/2 and 4 months
#2 of 4 Old 05-23-2010, 12:02 AM

How old is your child? Personality disorders cannot, should never be given before late teens, early adulthood because personality isn't fully formed until then. And personality disorders are not very treatable. I am a psychologist in Burnsville, not seeing many kids anymore, mostly marriage work but I would check with Washburn Child Guidance or Fraiser or Family and Childrens in Minneapolis. Good luck.

Maureen
#3 of 4 Old 05-23-2010, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the info. I may be classifying my hypothesis the wrong way. We are having lots of issues w/my son--much has been suggested from peds, chiros, friends and family--he's gifted, he's on the spectrum, he has sensory issues, this is normal 4 year old behavior, he has an auto-immune problem, and the latest that he has ODD (Oppositional Defiance syndrome). I've posted about this in the childhood section and gotten great support.

But, I do not know what to do. I feel in my heart there is something wrong and my dh and I want to have him evaluated. By whom? Where do I go first?

Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Married to love of my life! Children 6, 4 1/2, 2 1/2 and 4 months
#4 of 4 Old 05-25-2010, 12:17 AM