What should we do for Halloween? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 10-18-2008, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new at this holiday thing, so I really have no idea what people do. Last year was our first halloween and we went to MOA. It was alright, but really really crowded, and this will probably sound petty, but the candy they gave out was so yucky. Just tons of suckers and sweat tarts and stuff like that - barely any chocolate :. I heard that people don't really go door to door trick or treating anymore, is that true? Does anyone do that, and if so, what time of day do you go? Is there anywhere else we could go that isn't too crowded and would be fun for a three year old?
#2 of 9 Old 10-18-2008, 06:56 PM

I'm sure it depends on where you live, but in our eastside St. Paul neighborhood, lots and lots of kids go door to door. Our daughter is only 2 weeks old, so we won't be going around this year, but we always enjoy seeing the local kids all dressed up!
#3 of 9 Old 10-18-2008, 07:40 PM

Parenting Oasis and Attachment Parenting International Twin Cities are hosting a party on Saturday from 11-2 for little ones.

I would check out the neighborhood parks for Halloween. The parties can be really fun.

Of course we always trick-or-treat, in Minneapolis when they were little, now in Apple Valley.

Maureen
#4 of 9 Old 10-19-2008, 10:21 AM

We do go trick-or-treating here in S. Mpls., as do lots of other families. Little kids typically go early (dusk or earlier), and the later it gets, the older the kids get.

Other fun things I've heard of are at our nearest nature center (Woodlake) -- the one near you, whatever that is, may have one too. I think the MN Zoo and Children's Museum both have Halloween activities too.

Christine , wife of Ron , mama to Tony (4-25-03) and Maria (3-19-06) :
#5 of 9 Old 10-19-2008, 10:12 PM