Seeking recommendations for a doctor or midwife in Fargo, ND - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-17-2012, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am new to Fargo and have begun the task of researching doctors and midwives in the Fargo area.  This is my first child and it's my mission to have a natural birth.  I want to use homeopathy during labor and "opt out" of the recommended vaccinations, especially the one that's recommended 12 hours(!) after birth.

I'm having a hard time finding reviews or recommendations online.  Does anyone have a resource to recommend?  Or does anyone have any personal recommendations to share? 

I'm focusing right now on Sanford Hospital or Essentia Health (which has midwives on staff), however, I am open to other suggestions.

I have no idea what the climate is like at Sanford or Essentia.  Can anyone please provide any assistance??

Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-17-2012, 04:05 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Although my women friends speak of Essentia very highly over Sanford (for women's services) my personal experience is that even with the midwives at Essentia, it's probably more like a medicalized hospital environment than a natural birthing center environment. It's very nice there--private, nice rooms, indescribably friendly and supporting birthing staff, and they do have jacuzzi tubs in some of the rooms but you're not allowed to birth in the tub. I don't think they will let you go without an IV while laboring (though may be possible they're willing to accept only the hep lock and hook you up in the event you need it, I didn't press them on that issue). My impression is they assume everyone wants an epidural and my experience is that they will ask you at every opportunity why you're not having one. Friends who have birthed there were pressured to start pitocin because their labors were going over 8 hours (though I think they've had OBs not a midwife).