Anyone deliver at Banner Del E. Webb in Sun City West, AZ? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 02-03-2010, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I live in Surprise and am planning to deliver at Del E. Webb in Sun City West. We're doing the hospital tour tonight, but I'm interested in hearing any experiences from moms who've delivered there. I've had two successful, drug-free hospital births previously (at two different hospitals in North Dakota) and am hoping to continue my streak but I've heard that most Banner facilities are intervention-happy. Any experiences?

JoAnna

DH Collin

DD Elanor (8), DS William (5), DD Violet (3), DS Gabriel (1), DS Peter (born Oct. '13)

Noel (12/06) and Christian (03/09), always in my heart

#2 of 9 Old 02-05-2010, 10:45 PM

I am a homebirth midwife on the West Side that has transferred a couple of clients to Del Webb and have been the doula for a few women at Del Webb. For the most part my experiences there have been very positive. However; as with all births a lot depends on your care provider.

Del Webb is a Banner hospital so they fall under a lot of the same guidelines but mostly they follow the direction of the OB you are with.

Make sure you clearly work out your wishes/desires with your care provider and make sure they communicate that to the hospital.

All the best to you on a beautiful birth.
#3 of 9 Old 02-06-2010, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks, CLS. The OB I'm currently seeing seems pretty natural birth friendly, but I only have something like a one in nine chance of getting him for the birth... (one in three if I deliver on a weekday during business hours!). Otherwise it depends who is on call at the hospital.

The hospital tour was good; I was glad to see that each labor suite has a nice jacuzzi tub, and that they strongly encourage breastfeeding and 24-hour rooming-in with baby.