Kinda new, kinda old to Tucson - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 08-03-2010, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all,
I'm new to MDC and in a way new to Tucson as well. I grew up here and in Nogales but have lived most of my adult life up in the frigid lands of Wisconsin. Well, we're back after 12 long years and I feel a bit disconnected from the town that I love. Either Tucson's changed a lot, or I have but probably both. Partially I'm feeling so disconnected just due to our circumstances at the moment. I have a nine month old son and still feel like a new mom trying to gain her bearings (something I'm not sure ever really happens once you're a mom). Also, after always being a 2 car household, we're down to one car and there's not many parks within walking distance (at least not SUMMER walking distance). I keep trying to remind myself that this is a good and probably much needed lesson in minimalizing, but I've been struggling against deep feelings of isolation - something I didn't expect when we decided to return to Tucson. A Wisconsin friend turned me onto the online community here as I've only ever read the print version of Mothering and after just reading a few posts I hope I've found what I need here! We shall see.