Any UC families in Tucson? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 10-31-2010, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I support families in my community around their birth time, mostly in midwife- attended homebirth settings, but in other situations too. Recently I have been in communication with a couple of moms who have had unattended births and are struggling to understand exactly how to go about getting birth certificates. I have some knowledge, but it mostly stems from experiences with this situation a few years ago, so...

Anyone out there recently had a UC and found your way through the system in terms of what you need to get the birth certificate? Any current information or suggestions from anyone who has done it would be helpful!

Thanks,
Sarah
#2 of 4 Old 11-08-2010, 06:20 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Go to vital records, they will tell you what they want. Like proof of residence , citizenship, within the first 7 days easier process than later or atleast it is for LM clients, after the first 7 days even for LM clients they want prenatal records perhaps extensive proof of residency and residence at the time of Birth... Who ever is with mom at time of birth can be a witness, but careful if you go to many don't be the wittness. I have seen less hastle for military families cuz proof of citizenship issues are not the same and they have a way to track you down.
#3 of 4 Old 11-10-2010, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter

In reply to my own post, here is the update from the UC family I mentioned.  I hope it may be of use for anyone who goes through this process: